Skip to Content

3 Ways To Factory Reset Google WiFi In 10 Seconds (2022)

Factory Reset Google WiFi

“Hey Google, what’s the best way to fix errors on my Google WiFi?”

That’s a question I asked my Google Assistant one afternoon.

And you know what it said?

“You can fix your Google WiFi by factory resetting it.”

Now, you don’t have to ask your Assistant how.

Instead, let me guide you.

Keep reading to discover:

  • When you should reset your Google WiFi.
  • How Google WiFi tells you that it needs a reset.
  • 3 easy ways to factory reset Google WiFi in 10 seconds or less.
  • Where to contact Google in case something goes wrong with the reset.
  • And so much more…

3 ways to factory reset Google WiFi


#1: With the device

Let’s start with the simplest solution.

And that’s to reset your Google WiFi device by itself.

How can you do that?

Like I said, simple. You just have to:

  1. Unplug the cord from the WiFi itself.
  2. Locate the Reset button at the back of your Google WiFi.
  3. While you’re still holding the button, plug the cord back in.
  4. Wait until the light on your Google device turns white.

For this method, you need to be patient.

Google says that the factory reset should be done in 10 minutes.

But that’s not always true.

Some users have reported that it takes them up to 45 minutes to reset their Google WiFi fully.

Note: Can’t find the Reset button? Don’t worry. A lot of other users say the same thing. Why? Because it’s camouflaged somewhere in your device.

With that said, go to the bottom of your Google WiFi instead of the back.

Look closer. Do you see that tiny white circle right beside the serial number?

That’s your Reset button.

Note: Not all of us are verbal learners. If you struggle to visualize these steps without a video, don’t fret.

Instead, you can watch this:

#2: Through the Google Home app

Next, try using your smartphone instead.

How?

You’ll need to download Google Home on your phone. (Available on iOS and Android.)

Done? Great.

Now proceed to pair your Google WiFi to your smartphone using these 5 quick steps:

Note: Make sure that your WiFi is already turned on.

  1. Go to the main page of your Google Home app.
  2. Select Add Device.
  3. Tap Import Google WiFi Network, and then Next.
  4. Pick a home, and then tap Next again.
  5. Confirm that it’s the correct Google WiFi network.
  6. Scan the QR code at the bottom of your router.
  7. Enter your chosen Wi-Fi name and password.

Once that’s over, you can now proceed with the factory reset.

All points

By default, resetting via Google Home will reset all your Google WiFi points.

If you’re okay with that, start with:

  1. Open your Google Home app.
  2. Head to Wi-Fi.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Press Factory Reset Network.
  5. Tap OK to confirm.

Only selected point

What if you only want to reset 1 Google WiFi point? Can you do that?

Yes. All you have to do is:

  1. Open your Google Home app.
  2. Long-press your device.
  3. On the menu that appears, select Settings.
  4. Press Factory Reset WiFi Point.
  5. Tap OK to confirm.

#3: Through the Google WiFi app

Lastly, you can also factory reset your device using a laptop or a PC.

For this, you’ll need the Google WiFi app.

Got it? Now, here’s what you should do next:

Note: Google Home has already replaced the Google WiFi app for PC in most regions. However, the steps below should still apply.

  1. Open the Google WiFi app.
  2. Go to your Settings menu.
  3. Select Network & General.
  4. Click WiFi Point(s).
  5. Press Factory Reset.

After that, all of your points should flash blue for a couple of minutes.

You’ll know that your reset is completed when the lights turn solid blue.

Then, you can set your Google WiFi up again when it pulses blue once.

Note: While you can reset using the Google WiFi app, you’ll still need Google Home to set up your points again.

What’s the reason for this?

See, Google is starting to phase out the Google WiFi app.

In fact, unless you had it prior to October 2021, you can’t download the app anymore.

This change means that all of the functions on the Google WiFi app are migrating to Google Home…

But not factory reset. At least, not yet.

#BONUS: Contact Google support

Contact Google Support

Now, let’s talk about other options.

Here’s the truth:

Complications arise.

It doesn’t matter that you know how to fully reset your Google WiFi. There’ll still be factors preventing you from doing so.

In that case, what should you do?

Easy. Give Google a call.

When should I factory reset Google WiFi?

You should factory reset your Google Wi-Fi when there’s an error or you need to clean your data.

Google themselves list these 4 top reasons why people need to reset their device:

  • To return the router.
  • Give your device a clean slate.
  • Erase all information on the router.
  • To give the device to someone else.

But there’s 1 thing they forgot, and perhaps the most important reason:

To rid your Google WiFi of errors.

How?

First, let’s discuss what happens when you factory reset your Google WiFi.

According to Google, you should expect the following:

  • Your router and all of its points will return to its factory settings.
  • It’ll remove your router and all of its points from your Google account.
  • All information stored on your device, including data stored in Cloud, will be removed.

Now that we got that out of the way. Let’s move on to errors.

You might be asking:

“Peter, how can I know if my Google WiFi has errors?”

Simple. Just look at the lights.

Here’s a table of the possible colors and behavior of these lights and what they tell you:

LightMeaning
No lightNot connected to any power source.
Slow pulsing whiteYour Google device is setting up.
Solid whiteThe router is online.
Pulsing yellowThere’s a network error.
Solid redCritical failure.

If your device is signaling a critical failure…

Factory reset. Right now.

Critical failure can mean a lot of things.

However, the light means that your Google Wi-Fi has dangerous corrupted data most of the time.

Or, worse, that malware got through it that can steal your information.

So it’s better just to delete all of your data altogether when you receive a critical error failure.